Worth Words

Photos of Life's Details

178 Words the Power of Laughter

With the fearful strain that is on me night and day, if I did not laugh I should die.

– Abraham Lincoln

These pictures are from my friend Nathan’s surprise birthday party at our house in Ballard last weekend.  Every single photo I took has someone laughing or smiling in it – this is just the tip of the iceberg.  It was a wonderful party and everyone smiled and laughed the whole time.  Looking back at the photos reminds me of what a happy night it was for everyone, happy to be alive, living in the moment.  With all the stress and strain we endure at school, laughter is what keeps us all sane, and what keeps all of our spirits up.

The pain in your stomach after a few riotous minutes with friends.  The way people tend to fall over when they laugh (which is even funnier).  The way people often cry when they laugh too hard. The way laughter is contagious… I love laughter.  It can always brighten my day.

What is something that always brightens your day?

April 14, 2010 Posted by | Worth a comment, Worth an explanation | , , , , | Leave a comment

170 Words on Healing with Music

This photo holds a special place in my heart, and means a lot more than you would think. This photo is of Travis Clark of the band We The Kings. I took it on the first day of 106.1 KISS FM’s 9th Annual One Big KISS for Children’s Hospital in Seattle (February 2010).  It was a rainy afternoon and we were set up in the cafeteria of Children’s, a place my family has spent their fair share of time, and We The Kings brightened the day.

Music has an incredible healing power that I feel is often overlooked.  The day that We The Kings stopped by our broadcast, they toured around the hospital and played music for kids that couldn’t leave their rooms.  They brought smile to kids faces, and were positive to everyone they interacted with.  Radiothon, as we call it, is always emotional for the KISS FM staff, but this day was incredibly special.  Everyone’s hearts were lifted.    Music can heal, and I was happy to be there for the moment.

When you’re down, what lifts you up?


April 14, 2010 Posted by | Worth an explanation, Worth reflection | , , , , | Leave a comment